Community Ambassadors

So this week I signed up to become a community ambassador. But what does that mean….

…well nothing really. Not to me anyway.

I’ve been given this title and access to a Yammer group, a collective that are talking about great things happening in the city of Wolverhampton. The intention is that each month each of the ambassadors chooses 3 of the stories to shout about in their networks. The aim is to improve the perceptions of the city by sharing good news.

That’s it.

But I do that anyway. I try and join in #WolverhamptonHour and I share stories as I find them at other times too. I post news to Facebook and Twitter,  use WV11 to promote Wednesfield and I share stories at the various community meetings I go to, And so do others in the group.

So why does it matter that we’ve joined?
I’m not sure it does matter individually not in the grand scheme of things but, I think it matters that as group were holding our hands up and saying “Woah hang on there, things ain’t all bad around here!” We’re acknowledging that together we can make a bigger noise than with our lone voices. And if by being seen to be part of a collective that thinks positively encourages and engages others to think positively too then that’s not a bad thing to be a part of.

So I’m a Community Ambassador, are you?

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in General

Leave a Reply

  • Screw the naysayers - I've just been moved to tears by the music for tomorrows flash mob! Merry Merry Merry Christmas. 10 months ago
  • @loubylou60 Thanks Karen - I was just having a rant, over it now & looking forward to the event tomorrow :D 10 months ago
  • Sometimes I seriously wonder why we bother! 10 months ago
  • Community volunteers raise £5k - get extra christmas lights, live performances and a living tree for next year - and still someone complains 10 months ago
  • @coopukfood Except the sign above the door reads Griffith Drive - (No S on Griffiths) you may want to fix that. 10 months ago
Flickr Photos
