Having my cake and eating it

Two years ago after a bizarre conversation about Berlin, Michael Jackson and restaurant menus with a complete stranger over the phone  I ended up giving computer tuition to a couple I’d never met before, Jill and Loz, from the estate neighbouring where I live.

I taught them the basics of their laptop, helped then get online, taught then how to use email and how to Skype their family overseas. They are a lovely couple, if not a little over exuberant, she’s a banking administrator and he’s a retired Police Defective. Despite the very bizarre way that we were put in touch we have stayed friendly and James and I have given then technical support a couple of times more, helping them set up a printer and getting their laptop fixed when it was broken etc. etc.

Yesterday we received a phone call from Jill enquiring when I’d be around as she needed “a word” with me yet assuring me it wasn’t computer related this time, my interest more than piqued as we seldom hear from them unless they need technical support or it’s Christmas, we arranged for them to call over today and bless their hearts they came with this…..

image

A lovely sponge cake to congratulate me on passing my driving test the other week.

They had it made by their neighbours 16 year old daughter who makes and decorates them in her spare time around her school classes. Jill said;

“We’re doing everything we can to support her do we thought we’d get you a cake made up too”

I thought it was a lovely thoughtful gesture both for myself and for their neighbour.

Who said community spirit is dead?

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in General

Leave a Reply

  • Screw the naysayers - I've just been moved to tears by the music for tomorrows flash mob! Merry Merry Merry Christmas. 1 year ago
  • @loubylou60 Thanks Karen - I was just having a rant, over it now & looking forward to the event tomorrow :D 1 year ago
  • Sometimes I seriously wonder why we bother! 1 year ago
  • Community volunteers raise £5k - get extra christmas lights, live performances and a living tree for next year - and still someone complains 1 year ago
  • @coopukfood Except the sign above the door reads Griffith Drive - (No S on Griffiths) you may want to fix that. 1 year ago
Flickr Photos
